Resources/Signposting

Other avenues of support for your mental health that you might find helpful either whilst waiting or as an alternative.  If you are really struggling we’d encourage you to please contact your GP or go to the nearest walk in centre.  The Sussex Mental Healthline is also open 24 hours a day – see below.  We are not as a service able to offer crisis support.

 

Mental Health

Mental Health Foundation – https://www.mentalhealth.org.uk/coronavirus

Mind – https://www.mind.org.uk/information-support/coronavirus-and-your-wellbeing/

Blurt it Out – https://www.blurtitout.org/resource/the-coronavirus-helpful-hub

BACP – https://www.bacp.co.uk/news/news-from-bacp/2020/13-march-coronavirus-self-isolation-how-to-look-after-your-mental-health-and-wellbeing-if-you-re-self-isolating/

App for sleep, anxiety and stress – https://insighttimer.com/

 

Crisis

GP – call your GP surgery

Sussex Mental Healthline – 0300 5000 101  https://www.sussexpartnership.nhs.uk/sussex-mental-healthline

Samaritans – 116 123 https://www.samaritans.org/

SHOUT – Text Shout to 85258 https://www.giveusashout.org/

Mind Infoline – 0300 123 3393 https://www.mind.org.uk/information-support/helplines/

 

Parenting

Talking to your children about coronavirus – https://mentalhealth.org.uk/coronavirus/talking-to-children

Parent Club – https://www.parentclub.scot/topics/health/coronavirus

UNICEF – https://www.unicef.org/coronavirus/covid-19-parenting-tips

Anna Freud Centre – https://www.annafreud.org/what-we-do/anna-freud-learning-network/coronavirus/

Parentkind – https://www.parentkind.org.uk/

Young Minds – https://youngminds.org.uk/

Resources to support children – http://www.safehandsthinkingminds.co.uk/covid-anxiety-stress-resources-links/

 

Self-care

Tips for staying at home – https://mentalhealth.org.uk/coronavirus/staying-at-home

Relaxation/breathing techniques – https://www.cntw.nhs.uk/resource-library/relaxation-techniques/

Royal College of Psychiatrists – https://www.rcpsych.ac.uk/mental-health/problems-disorders/eating-well-and-mental-health

Nutritionist Resource – https://www.nutritionist-resource.org.uk/articles/nutrition-and-mental-health.html#foodandmoodwhatsthelink

NHS Sleep – https://www.nhs.uk/live-well/sleep-and-tiredness/how-to-get-to-sleep/

Mindfulness – https://www.mindfulnesssussex.co.uk/index.html

Sleep Foundation – https://www.sleepfoundation.org/sleep-guidelines-covid-19-isolation

 

Keeping Active

The Body Coach (Joe Wicks) – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCAxW1XT0iEJo0TYlRfn6rYQ

Sport England – https://10today.co.uk/

Yoga with Adriene – https://www.youtube.com/user/yogawithadriene/videos

Gym apps/home workouts – http://www.talkhealthpartnership.com/blog/2020/03/best-at-home-gym-apps-free-living-room-workouts/

 

Financial/Work Worries

The Money Advice Service – https://www.moneyadviceservice.org.uk/en

National Debtline – https://www.nationaldebtline.org/EW/factsheets/Pages/coronavirus-advice-and-support/help-and-advice.aspx

ACAS (Advisory, Conciliation and Arbitration Service) – https://www.acas.org.uk/coronavirus

Citizens Advice – https://www.citizensadvice.org.uk/

Money Saving Expert – https://www.moneysavingexpert.com/

 

Domestic Abuse

Government guidance – https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/coronavirus-covid-19-and-domestic-abuse

National Domestic Abuse Helpline – 0808 2000 247 https://www.nationaldahelpline.org.uk/

Women’s Aid – https://www.womensaid.org.uk/covid-19-coronavirus-safety-advice-for-survivors/

Men’s Advice Line – 0808 8010 327 https://mensadviceline.org.uk/

NHS – https://www.nhs.uk/live-well/healthy-body/getting-help-for-domestic-violence/

 

Latest Guidance

NHS – https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/coronavirus-covid-19/

UK Government – https://www.gov.uk/coronavirus

World Health Organisation – https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019